top of page
  • Writer's pictureRafael Arredondo

NEW CAR INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS IN CALIFORNIA

Caution sign

For more than 50 years, California has had the same minimum auto insurance requirements. That is, every car on the road has to have insurance limits of at least $15,000 for bodily injury per person, $30,000 for bodily injury total and $5,000 for property damage (often referred to 15/30/5).  Senate Bill No. 1107 will change this effective beginning of next year or January 1st, 2025 and will require drivers to have coverage that is at least 30/60/15.  This change reflects the increase in costs since the current limits were introduced in 1967.  We often see accidents in which the at-fault driver does not have enough coverage to pay for all damages and injuries, which results in the affected person(s) having to pay for the rest out of their own pocket or filing a lawsuit.  It also brings California more in line with most other states that have already raised their limits.  Note that this same law raises the limits again in 2035 to 50/100/25.  If you have questions about your liability limits, please call our Bell Gardens office at (323) 773-4429.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Bình luận


bottom of page